Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Leadership & Organization 

HCSRN Board 

The Health Care Systems Research Network (HCSRN) is led by Deputy Executive Director Mike Breslin. Breslin is responsible for all strategic and operational activities as overseen by the HCSRN Governing Board. The all-volunteer Board operates as a democratic constituency, guided by a set of agreed upon bylaws.

Together, these visionary leaders are helping shape the future of the HCSRN and health systems-based research.

Executive Committee of the Board

Five Board officers make up the HCSRN’s Executive Committee. The Executive Director is on the Executive Committee in an ex officio capacity

  • Michael Horberg, MD, MAS (Chair 2023-2024)
  • Rebecca Rossom, MD, MS (Chair Elect 2025-2026)
  • Tina Davis, PhD, MPH (Member At Large, 2022-2023)
  • Leslie Hinyard, PhD, MSW (Member At Large, 2022-2023)
  • Robert Greenlee, PhD, MPH (Immediate Past Chair, 2023-2024)

Governing Board Members

  • Denise Angst, PhD, RN, Vice President, Academic Research & Strategic Partnership, Advocate Aurora Research Institute
  • Alan Bauck, MBA, Kaiser Permanente Center for Health Research
  • Gabriel Chodick, PhD, Head of Research Institute (Maccabitech), Maccabi Healthcare Services
  • Tina Davis, PhD, MPH, Investigator, Center for Research and Evaluation, Kaiser Permanente Georgia
  • Robert T. Greenlee, PhD, MPH, Senior Research Scientist, Center for Clinical Epidemiology and Population Health, MCRI, Marshfield Clinic Health System
  • Leslie Hinyard, PhD, MSW, Executive Director, Advanced HEAlth Data (AHEAD) Institute, St. Louis University
  • Stacey Honda, MD, PhD, Medical Director, Center for Integrated Healthcare Research, Kaiser Permanente Hawaii
  • Michael A. Horberg, MD, MAS, Associate Medical Director, KP Mid-Atlantic Permanente Medical Group, Executive Director, Mid-Atlantic Permanente Research Institute, Mid-Atlantic Permanente Medical Group
  •  J.B. Jones, PhD, MBA, Executive Director, Center for Health Systems Research, Sutter Health
  • Rita Mangione-Smith, MD, MPH, Vice President for Research & Health Care Innovation, Kaiser Permanente Washington, Executive Director, KP Washington Health Research Institute, Kaiser Permanente Washington
  • Kathleen Mazor, EdD, Interim Division Chief of Health Systems Science, Department of Medicine, UMass Medical School
  • Christine Neslund-Dudas, PhD, Associate Research Scientist, Henry Ford Health, Co-Leader, Cancer Epidemiology Prevention and Control Program, henry Ford Cancer Institute
  • Kristi Reynolds, PhD, Director, Epidemiologic Research, Kaiser Permanente Southern California
  • Rebecca C. Rossom, MD, MS, Senior Investigator, Research, HealthPartners Institute, HealthPartners
  • Katherine Sanchez, PhD, LCSW, Director, Diversity and Inclusiveness in Research, Research Investigator 3, Baylor Scott & White Health
  • Julie Schmittdiel, PhD, MA, Associate Director, Heath Care Delivery and Policy, Division of Research
  • Claudia Steiner, MD, MPH, Executive Director, Institute for Health Research, Kaiser Permanente Colorado
  • Darren Toh, ScD, DPM Endowed Professor in the Department of Population Medicine, Harvard Medical School and Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute
  • Stephen C. Waring, DVM, PhD, FACE, Principal Scientist, Essentia Institute of Rural Health, Essentia Health, Adjunct Professor, College of Pharmacy UMN-Duluth
  • Eric Wright, PharmD, MPH, Professor of Pharmacy, Dept of Health System Sciences, Geisinger College of Health Sciences, System Director, Center for Pharmacy Innovation and Outcomes, Geisinger

HCSRN Committees

  • Executive
  • Finance

HCSRN Task Forces

  • Diversity Equity and Inclusion
  • HCSRN Value
  • Web Site Review


  • Suzanne Simons, MS, Interim Executive Director
  • Mike Breslin, Deputy Executive Director